Chugach sheep hunt 24

ScottP

WKR
Hello fellow sheep enthusiasts-

I was super fortunate to draw DS165. Have to admit, I'm a pretty new AK resident and this will be my first real dall's hunt. I have a couple of questions for anyone that's done this hunt (or similar) before.

- Timing -- Aug 10 - Sept 20 is the season, any reason to get in the 'race' for Aug 10 opener? I'm very flexible with my hunt dates. I'm flying with Meekin, and a couple of the days before Aug 10 were already full by noon of the draw result day. haha. So I haven't picked a date as I was also getting a hunting partner in place. But I have no concept of how the sheep are distributed in this massive area - so can't really anticipate how hunters are generally distributed out there either.

- Crampons or microspikes? I have hill sound microspikes, wondering if those are sufficient.

- Lightweight hip waders? What's the thought on these, useful or better to pull boots and cross in crocs?

Any other advice happily accepted. DM is fine too if you prefer. My gear is pretty dialed for a week+ hunt via super cub, so in that department I'm probably ok given it's only February.

t_carlson

WKR
I have zero experience with dall sheep, but I do have mountaineering experience.

Micro spikes will NOT give you adequate purchase on a glacier with any significant amount of slope to it, and the Alaskan wilderness is no place to go skipping down the ice. In addition, take at least one trekking pole to maintain three points of contact while crossing.

You can find lightweight aluminum crampons, which I would suggest over steel ones on a backpack hunt. Just take them off before walking on any rocks.

OP
ScottP

ScottP

WKR
I have zero experience with dall sheep, but I do have mountaineering experience.