Converting Magnetic Azimuth to grid Azimuth

pollux

FNG
Hello guys, newbie here.

It's a question that I just can't figure on my own, so I need a little help with this. The area where I live has a westerly GM angle. As per the map diagram, to convert a magnetic azimuth to a grid azimuth, you substract the gm angle. I don't get why you need to substract your compass value when making the conversion to grid when grid north is actually on the right side of your magnetic north ? Instinctively, I'd be inclined to add it.

I hope my question makes sense. I am able to just use the formula and get away with it, but it's counter intuitive for me.

Thanks !

Rokbar

WKR
When I was taking a land nav course in the Army I was told this would vary depending on what part of the world you were in. The instructor informed us that here in the US it really wasn't relevant. Now, how true that was I don't know. I never got lost and would find all the points giving by getting close and following the trails to them. Good question though. With the rise of technology, true maps, compasses, and land nav will be a thing of the past. We used the earlier GPS's called sluggers.

If your west of the agonic line...an imaginary line that runs vertically, west of the Great Lakes and west of Florida (Google agonic line for more detail)....you can use the acronym M.U.G.S. and G.O.M.A when applying the magnetic declination of the geographical area you’re in.

A bearing that has been identified on your map, that you’ll apply to your compass to determine the direction of travel - use MUGS
Map
Unto
Ground
Subtract (the declination)

A bearing you’ve taken through triangulating (or point line intersect), that you’ll apply to your map to determine your location - use GOMA
Ground
Onto
Map
Add (the declination)

If your East of the agonic line...then you’d use MUGA and GOMS...same principles applied.

Boog304

FNG