Draw Length Opinions Please

Cwlauger

FNG
Hello All,

While at the range I was told that my DL is too short....Currently set at 28", and the person said they thought I should be closer to 30"....Looking for some opinions. I did some research on my own, and from my pictures I canʻt tell if I need a longer DL. I have been noticing some discomfort in my bow shoulder too and wondering if thereʻs a connection. I have also noticed a little discomfort in my bow arm elbow while shooting.

I did the wingspan method as well as measuring my fist on wall to corner of mouth. Both of these place me between 28"-28.5"

Appreciate any feedback and opinions.

Attachments

• DL1.png
    DL1.png
    549.8 KB · Views: 123
  • DL2.png
    DL2.png
    598.6 KB · Views: 123
I'm not an expert on judging draw length based off form for compounds, but here's a couple things I see right away. 1st, if you rotate your bowhand 45 degrees like you're making a stop sign with your hand it may help your bow side shoulder. That should help you get your bow side scapula down. Right now it's lifted up.

Second, is your pin float large, or small? Even minute changes in draw length can make a big difference. Strip any stabilizers off the bow and play with draw length mods then fine tuning draw length with yokes or D loop length. Let the bow teach you what draw length works best.

OP
Cwlauger

Cwlauger

FNG
I'm not an expert on judging draw length based off form for compounds, but here's a couple things I see right away. 1st, if you rotate your bowhand 45 degrees like you're making a stop sign with your hand it may help your bow side shoulder. That should help you get your bow side scapula down. Right now it's lifted up.

Second, is your pin float large, or small? Even minute changes in draw length can make a big difference. Strip any stabilizers off the bow and play with draw length mods then fine tuning draw length with yokes or D loop length. Let the bow teach you what draw length works best.