Elk vs Deer Hunt Decision

Whats up rokslide, this is my first post so hopefully I'm doing it right. I'm currently a student here in CO and am debating on my approach to the big game draw for 2024 and 2025. Based on my limited time here being a non-resident, I will have two years to both get points and go hunt (I currently have 0 points in all species). Here's my dilemma: Put in for a 0 pref point deer tag for 2024, getting an elk pref point which I use in 2025 OR put in for a 0 pref point elk tag for 2024, getting a deer pref point which I use 2025. In y'alls experience, are deer or elk tags generally better in the 1 pref point category. I know this is very broad but basic answers is all I'm looking for I suppose.
P.S this is for RIFLE seasons only. Thanks!

UncleBone

WKR
Youre not going to get much on either side with 1 PP, especially if you keep your NR status. You may see a few less people in a 1 PP unit, but it doesn't mean you will see more or bigger animals.

ladogg411

Lil-Rokslider
NR in CO school full time for 6 months qualifies as a resident. When exactly did you start school?

Get points. And use those points as a CO resident. Not NR. Until then, OTC elk as NR.

And get your 3 base points for MSG while you are considered a CO resident also.

OP
A
Yup, forgot to clarify that ladogg. I can apply as a resident since I've been a FT student for more than 6 months.

ladogg411

Lil-Rokslider
I would qpply all species.

I would do deer elk points only for 2024. Then, actually hunt a return/reissue tag, not a 0 point tag. And you get to keep your points.

Save your points and actually hunt your points on your final year as a "resident".

Too bad you didn't buy points for a few years before getting this backdoor residency opportunity. Keep that mistake in mind as you are planning for post school hunts.

OP
A
No kidding, I definitely wish I knew that a few years ago. Anyways thanks for the tips

BigMick93

FNG
I would qpply all species.