Entire sleep system under pack?

First backpack hunt. So working with a number of budget items. Mostly worried about limited pack space.

Using an Alps Traverse pack. 3-5 day Spike camp.

Currently I have my 20 degree mommy bag, Trekker 2V tent, and inflatable sleeping bag all in the One Tigris waterproof compression sack under the pack. Any reason having this 8lbs or so under the pack will cause any major back or shoulder problems when hiking?

Attachments

• IMG_3964.jpeg
    IMG_3964.jpeg
    575.6 KB · Views: 114

Gobbler36

WKR
Where you putting meat?

also yes it will work but no it’s not very comfortable
my suggestion would be to pick up a pack that is more intended for backpack hunting

Felix40

WKR
I think it would be a pain in deadfall. Other than that, if you can deal with it bumping into your hamstrings every step, I see no issue

OP
OkiechasingElk
Where you putting meat?

also yes it will work but no it’s not very comfortable
my suggestion would be to pick up a pack that is more intended for backpack hunting
It’s expandable between the storage area and the inner frame for meat hauling. After first trip out with camp and first load of meat; I’ll have an old meat hauler frame I’ll take in for heavier meat loads on subsequent trips.

OP
OkiechasingElk
I think it would be a pain in deadfall. Other than that, if you can deal with it bumping into your hamstrings every step, I see no issue
I’m 6’5”, did a test run around the yard, it’s more mid-upper buttocks than hammy’s.

I could definitely see it being an issue if I get in heavy deadfall areas.

OP
OkiechasingElk
Should be fine. Maybe strap it up vertical in the center of your pack. You don’t need an expensive pack. It does make it a lot more convenient though.
That make solid sense. Once it’s daylight and I’m in a ways I’ll have my bow off my pack and in my hands, so that’d free up the middle to strap the sleep system too.