Evolution Outdoors Jekyll & Hyde

I have been shooting SEVR broadheads for 2 years now , with great results for the most part . However this year after two back to back experiences I decided to change. ( I'll detail these experiences later in this write up ).

I want to preface this by saying I have only just received these Evolution Outdoors heads and these are my initial thoughts and initial testing on the head . There will be more detailed information this spring when I get the chance to really shoot them and play around with them . ( also I have generally been a fixed blade guy ,up until the last few years dabbling in a mixture of both mechanical and fixed )

First, I want to talk about the SEVR . They are phenomenal heads , I've shot the 1.5, 1.75. And the 2.0 and harvested animals with all 3 . If I had to pick one of them out of all 3 sizes it would be the 1.5 hands down. However they are all good. My main concern with the SEVR is the one dimensional cut. You either get a horizontal or vertical cut or some variation of that. Which is fine for the most part. However I have found if you get a vertical entrance and exit the blood tends to be worse then a horizontal variation. Which makes sense as the skin can close up easier as the animal is running. None the less if I did my job all animals doed within 50 yards. But more often then not the blood trail was meh. Which I already struggle to track blood . ( most of these blood issues I've had have been from this 2023 season, I also has 1 - 2.0 fail to lock open, it still opened just never got to full lock , and did kill the animal quickly )