How much time to spend glassing?

gofast23

FNG
Hi All,

Here is my problem: I am new to big game hunting and I am planning a high country (~8400 ft) backpacking hunt in an area I am not familiar with. I will not have time for on the ground scouting and i will only have 3 days to hunt. I am doing my best to learn e-scouting techniques and will try to get away from the easily accessible areas. I have no feel for how much time I should spend glassing my chosen area. I don't want to spend my entire time glassing an area that may not have any mule deer. Any suggestions for how I should allocate my time in the field glassing vs. checking out new areas? Given my short window I would guess that I should be covering more ground in the hopes of finding an area that has deer. Appreciate any guidance you may have.

Thanks.

Jc213

Lil-Rokslider
I like to get up before dark and be on a vantage point or glassing knob that you can see several basins from. Get a few picked out on google earth and start with the one closest to camp. The longer you glass the more likely you’ll see an animal walk around a corner or a tree, so double check spots over and over that look good. They are out feeding kinda late right now and you can catch them coming off water until 9 even 10 throughout archery season. And up feeding as early as 5 pm I saw last weekend. Make sure you have all your water sources mapped out to help you find where they might be.

OP
G

gofast23

FNG
Thanks. I've picked a camp spot that splits two basins and a glassing spot that looks over the length of a green valley with view of tree lines on either side. I have the water sources on the map, but I am not sure how seasonal they may be in late August. It's hard to pick a camp site that isn't somewhere that might also have game.