In the Field Distance Limit

Fowl Play

WKR
Hey fellas,

Little campfire discussion here cause I’m curious. Sorry if this comes across as a humble brag —- not my intention — although it is nice to see hard work pay off. I started shooting at extended ranges last year, practicing hard. I can confidently hold a 6-7” group at 80 yards with my hunting setup. I can no longer shoot more than 4-5 arrows at the same dot at 60 or I will loose a vane or nock. I think I am going to limit my field shooting to 60 though for elk. 80 just seems like a long flight time + performance loss for stuff to go wrong in real world conditions. I might throw a 2nd arrow at an animal at 80, if given the opportunity, but not the first.

Thoughts on this? I’m curious what % of your max effective range you guys use in the field.

It’s all situational. An animal has no guarantee to hold still like a target. The more aware the animal is, the shorter the ethical distance.

Other things out of control, especially wind or twigs etc can also ruin the shot. Respect the animal. Be a good example of an ethical bow hunter.

Everyone’s personal ethical range is different, so keep practicing and make good choices!

I tell clients 50% of your 6” group distance is a good rule of thumb. There’s way more factors in elk hunting than target. Time, branches, shooting lanes, movement of animal, adrenaline, amount of time ur holding at full draw, being out of breath, alertness of the animal. All those factors completely ruin shots.

Even 6” groups is a pretty big window with 1 step
of an elk, and wounded elk are tough animals to find. This is why you see so many people looking for lost animals every year,

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sndmn11

WKR
Hey fellas,

humble brag —-

I might throw a 2nd arrow at an animal at 80, if given the opportunity, but not the first.

Thoughts on this? I’m curious what % of your max effective range you guys use in the field.