Muzzleloader suggestions

MikeA171

FNG
I am looking to purchase my first muzzleloader for hunting elk in Washington and was hoping to find people with experience using a Knight vs a CVA. I am new to the game and know very little about muzzleloaders. A friend of mine suggested I purchase the Knight Ultra Lite in 50 cal online. I went to a Muzzleloader store near me in hopes of actually getting to put my hands on one and found they don't carry any. The owner of the shop and long time muzzleloader hunter said that Knight's are pretty much obsolete and that they haven't made anything new in the last 4 to 5 years. He showed me the CVA's and I was kind of leaning towards the MRX but am unsure, especially with the collapsible ramrod. Not sure if that is a big deal having to carry it on you as opposed to it being attached to the rifle, as well as having to buy an extra to use for cleaning. I have tried to do some research and comparisons on both but am finding conflicting info such as quality issues with CVA. I would really like to hear recommendations from people who have had experience using the Knight and or CVA. Thanks in advance for the help.

Wrench

WKR
I have both. I prefer the quality of the knight....but they are a niche market gun and cva is available from about anywhere. Knight costs more because it's simply better. A factory timney trigger is a good start.

nobody

WKR
We’ve owned both and shot both in our family/hunting crew. Bottom line: flip a coin and buy what fits your use case and tickles your fancy.

Knight is a much higher quality rifle. There are lots and lots of complaints about the quality control on CVAs.

And…the shop owner is mistaken - Knight just released the .40 Peregrine a year or two ago. Another brand to check out is Woodman Arms. They make the Patriot.

Western Ulite - awesome rifle

50-Ultra-Lite.jpg

Or even the newer DISC

P1010003a.jpg

A side note if it fits within your budget I would really suggest you get a black Nitride model.