New hunting arrow setup suggestions, what are y’all shooting?

K_pem

WKR
Finally got a new (to me) bow setup: Mathews Phase 4 29. Going to be pulling 70-75lbs 80% let off at 28” draw.

Im not sure what kind of arrow components I want to go with but here’s what I’m thinking:

-Total arrow weight between 450-475gr (trying to maximize speed relative to weight to get the best Kinetic energy and momentum; seems this range produced the best kinetic energy:momentum ratios without sacrificing speed too much >270fps)
-Shooting for 15% FOC
-I want to try a 4mm (looking at VAP TKO, Deep impacts, X impacts, or ??)
-50 ish grain outserts
-Fixed blade (Maybe Iron Will if I can justify cost, if not maybe Annhilator or?)
-Not sure on vanes (AAE Max/Hunter? Q2i?)

Looking for suggestions or someone that shoot a similar setup with a solid arrow they’ve worked up?

I’m relatively new to this nerding out on the archery setup thing. My previous bow was a 10+ year old Bear and I just shot FMJ off the shelf with either Trophy taker or Montec broadheads.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
My advice is to avoid outserts/half-outs and to ignore FOC/KE/momentum numbers.

If I were to shoot a 4mm arrow, the only insert I would trust is a Deep Six HIT...but that would severely limit broadhead choices because not many manufacturers offer a Deep Six option. There's nothing wrong with a good old standard diameter (6.5mm/.245") arrow...they're relatively inexpensive, durable, and compatible with simple RPS-style inserts. A 5mm arrow with an 8-32 thread HIT is a good compromise if you insist on something skinnier than standard diameter.

big44a4

WKR
Finally got a new (to me) bow setup: Mathews Phase 4 29. Going to be pulling 70-75lbs 80% let off at 28” draw.

Im not sure what kind of arrow components I want to go with but here’s what I’m thinking: