Non resident hunter - tag draw vs guaranteed draw

GreyBeck

Lil-Rokslider
Lifelong fisherman bitten by western hunting bug. Seeking some guidance on how to, respectfully, hunt and draw tags as a non resident.

Is it best to apply for tags in a bunch of areas in hopes of drawing something and then make plans with an outfitter? Or, find an outfitter first and apply, with or without the outfitter’s assistance for tags in their area?

Regretfully, as a non resident I can’t scout on my own and I will know next to nothing about areas out west. This is part of the learning curve and something I want to do but time and distance will limit me. From years of fishing, I’ve seen plenty come to my local waters and try it on their own “like we do back home.” Sometimes it works, most of the time it doesn’t. So I’m not “that guy” I’ll hire someone who knows not only the land but the local do’s and don’ts. Some states I know a local outfitter is required. I have plenty of hunting experience in blinds but very little spot and stalk - I want a hunt not a guaranty and zero interest in any high fence. I’d imagine outfitters are like many fishing guides in my area, some passionate and near artists in the pursuit and others just take tourists’ money. How to best sort the good from the guy who’s collecting some $$?

Any advice appreciated. Some may say “just stay home and hunt your state”. I get it and have been guilty of saying the same thing when I see some people on the water. I want to do this the right way. I’m not the chest thumping dick who needs a trophy. I want to set a goal and work at it. I’d be happy glassing for days and just getting a chance to be in the right area at the right time.

If the General Forum isn’t the right spot for this I’ll repost elsewhere.

txjustin

Lil-Rokslider
Where are you wanting to hunt? Elk? Mulies? Whitetail?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wytx

WKR