Nothern California (Trinity Alps) optics: should I upgrade my Leica Trinovid 10x42 to a higher magnification binos, if used with a spotting scope?

alex8023

FNG
I am a beginner blacktail deer hunter.

Based on my guided hunt experiences, I am planning to glass up to 800-1000 yards in the area where I will be hunting (public land in Trinity Alps, California).

I already have a Leica Trinovid 10x42mm binos, and I am planning to purchase a good quality spotting scope (Leica Televid 25-50x65mm or comparable) and a tripod for my planned blacktail deer/black bear backpacking hunts.

Should I plan on upgrading my Leica Trinovid 10x42mm to a higher magnification binoculars (12x? 18x?), or will I be fine with my 10x Leica, switching between it and a higher magnification spotting scope on a tripod?

Thank you!

I’d keep the 10s personally. When you put 10s on a tripod it’s a huge difference. If you didn’t already have them I might say 12s but since you do I’d use those. 10s can still be used hand holding them, it gets tougher with 12s to hand hold. On the spotter side, unless I’m wanting to count tines way out there I don’t pack my spotter. I can tell if a buck has a good frame and is worth going after from a looong way out with my 10s on a tripod. For me it’s not usually worth the weight to pack my spotter.

amassi

WKR
^agree im done packing spotters unless in a big group and we can share the load
10s on a tripod are sufficient
Now that we’ve saved you money on a spotter you can upgrade your leicas

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
A

alex8023

FNG
@ReddingArcher and @amassi : thank you for some very good tips!

From my limited glassing experiences in the Trinity Alps area, I speculated that a quality spotting scope with 25-50x magnification may be used to glass suspicious area (shaded areas or the areas partially blocked by the tree or a rock) and to help spotting the deer there.