Planning first mule deer hunt

I have started my planning for my first Idaho mule deer hunt. I am planning for next year 2021 to go. I am a disabled veteran and plan on buying a mule deer tag as well as a elk tag. I plan to put emphasis on Elk, but will not pass up a mature mule deer buck if I come across one. I will be thrilled with either one. I have looked at several units and have considered 28 for the most isolated areas, but have also considered some of the 60's units also because they seem maybe easier for getting around. I am planning to hunt with a buddy, but may end up doing a solo hunt. I will be traveling from Virginia so boots on the ground scouting will be limited. I am not asking for locations to hunt, and I am perfectly okay with going home with my tags also, I'm just excited about the experience. So my questions are about altitudes of deer and elk at different times of the year, and information as to why they are at those elevations. With this information, I plan to use Idaho hunt planner, and Onxhunt to find areas to look for. If there are other resources to read, I will certainly look those up. Any help is appreciated.

Marble

WKR
I’d pick up a couple books on elk and mule deer hunting most of those will give the answers your asking.
Exactly....

There is more to it then just targeting a specific altitude range. A lot more.

If it's your first few years of hunting mule deer and elk, you've got an exciting and large amount of info to learn. Experience and knowledge of the area you are going to will be bigger influences on your success, than choosing the right area, altitude or season.

My best suggestion is for you to take a trip where you want to go during the summertime or early fall, close to when you want to hunt, and scout. The 1 to 4 days it will take you to locate a camping spot, trailhead, water, town, animals, learn things the wind does etc., will not have to be learned on your first trip out.

Rich M

WKR