Pressure increasing with continuous shots?

CBB1

Lil-Rokslider
I ran into pressure signs on some 308 I was shooting today at the end of a 5 shot group. The first 3 shots seemed fine and I was visually inspecting each brass for pressure signs. The fourth shot had a heavy bolt lift and slight ejector mark. The 5 was more noticeable with bolt lift and ejector mark. I’m shooting a Remington 700 with 18” barrel and suppressor. Load was Hornady brass 44gr Varget, federal primer and 168eldm loaded to 2.800”. Each shot was single loaded and fired.

I am new to reloading so there is still a lot I don’t know, any guidance would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bmart2622

WKR
The only time I had something similar happen was when a carbon ring developed, but I was shooting a 300 Ultra burning 95grs of powder. Sure seems like it would take a lot of shots from a 308 to do that but maybe?

How are you measuring your charge weight? Depending on your system there could be a bit of a variance in throw.

Varget should be fairly temp stable, and I wouldn’t expect a major pressure change in 5 rounds.

How many loads on the brass? Re-sized & trimmed? Crimp?

Silly question, but how many rounds down the pipe since your last cleaning? Insane buildup could cause increased pressure. But it would be fairly impressive for it to be that dirty outside of some really really bad copper fouling.

My first thought also goes to carbon ring… as others have said it shouldn’t cause build up after a few rounds, but we are all unsure of your cleanliness routine. Also cans are fairly dirty (trapping gases in the system) so that could have helped with expediting build up.

Only other thought is maybe primer variance? If you’re using standard federal and not match grade primers and your loads are on the high end (don’t know what’s high for .308 off the top of my head) the difference in QC of non match primers might lead to enough of a burn variation to make one stick.

OP
C

CBB1