Protein Feeders that wont Clog

I have been using Boss Buck for 3 years now and all of sudden both have clogged. I have loosened bolts on funnels and shaken, etc. And have them fully extended (as loose/high flow as possible), and still the feed won't come down like it used to without me shaking or bumping the funnels. Anybody have a recommendation on how to fix and/or other feeders that don't have this issue?

Have considered going to ASF at some point....maybe this is my sign....

Stevek

WKR
Humidity and/or lots of rainfall can be the issue. Try to slightly vent the lid of the feeder to allow moisture trapped inside to escape while still keeping rainfall out. Pellets are manufactured with a binder in them to keep the pellet together. Some binders will stick together if there is some moisture in the air. Low consumption rates can cause feed to bind or stick together inside the funnel/downspouts also. I would not put much feed inside the feeder till the deer are using it daily. The feed needs to flow daily to keep it from binding up inside the feeder. High humidity causes the pellets to fall apart over time. These fines created as the pellet falls apart do not flow very well. Allow the feeder to go completely empty every couple of months will help. Old feed can get bugs(weevils and brown bugs) in it and cause major issues with clogging. Those bugs create moisture as feed sits. Feed is manufactured with some moisture content so if it sits in the feeder in times with major temp swings it can "sweat" and cause condensation under the roof or lid of the feeder. This will then "rain" down on the feed causing it to get moist again and mold. Also clog the feeder. Hope this helps.

Last edited:
OP
Doc Holliday
Maybe it is the brand of protien you use? It swells and causes the chutes to clog?