Resistance when resizing.

grfox92

WKR
I've been reloading for a few months now and have done a bunch of .308 and now am doing 7mm08. I am setting up my dies with the instructions (lawyer version).

I lube my brass and set it in the shell holder. On the upstroke I get the expected resistance expected when pushing the brass up into the die. However on the down stroke the brass starts coming out of the die and I then hit a wall of resistance where I have to push down hard on the lever and "pop" the brass out of the die.

This doesn't seem right to me. It's happening with both 308 and 7mm08. I've reset the dies multiple times and it always happens during resizing.

Is this normal? I'm completely self taught from you tube and reading here and other places. I just want to make sure I'm not doing something wrong.

Press is a Rock Chucker and dies are also RCBS. Using RCBS kine on a lube mat.

Sent from my SM-G990U2 using Tapatalk

Wrench

WKR
Press the case mouth onto your lube pad to get a hint of lube on the inside. Too much on the outside will cause wrinkles in the shoulder.

OP
grfox92

grfox92

WKR
Press the case mouth onto your lube pad to get a hint of lube on the inside. Too much on the outside will cause wrinkles in the shoulder.
Yes I learned that lesson early on with dimpled brass and have reduced the amount. It shot out of the ones it happened to any way. Didn't know about lubing inside the neck. I'll try it when I get home. Thanks.

sdupontjr

WKR
I had this happen just recently on my RCBS 308 die. Same as above, inside the neck was a little dry. I make my own lube with 99% alcohol and liquid lanolin. I pulled the die, shot a little lube on the expander ball and inside the die. Let it dry, Started running them again. After the second brass, it was slick again.

OP
grfox92

grfox92

WKR