Strenuous occupations

How many of you have highly physical occupations?

I'm a self employed carpenter here in southern MO. We do all kinds of carpentry work, this week we prepped and poured a concrete floor inside a house that had a rotten wood floor system and next week we will be installing a residential metal roof. Without even a trace of bragging, it's hard work. I often wake up the next morning with sore muscles. Most of this is done with a 15+lb tool belt on.

If this sounds familiar, how does that affect your preparation for hunting season? Sometimes a hard workout after a tough day at work seems like asking for an injury, but maybe I'm just paranoid. Obviously, I stay in pretty good shape, but is it the same kind of shape that a guy working out for 30 min a day at a gym is in? How does it translate to mountain shape? From my experience hiking here in MO, it means I have plenty of muscle capacity but my cardio needs maintainance. I don't know how that will work in the Rocky's, though. For reference, I'm 5' 8'' and 150 lbs, with very little body fat.

And if you drive a desk for a living ( using Randy Newburg's terms), please don't read any superiority here! I have plenty of guys in my phone contacts that drive a desk for a living that make it possible for me to do what I do!
I'm north of you in Iowa, 5'11, 165lbs, been a self employed carpenter for 21 years and residential framer for most of that and about 5 years prior, I do fine out west, cardio is the toughest. Best thing is to allow a couple days of acclimation, I've hit it hard early before and by day nine I was toast. Did 16 days last year avg 12 miles a day in Northern Idaho, the occupational wear n tear on my body is definitely showing, but I ain't dead yet lol. I actually feel better in the morning out there sleeping on a cot than I do here at home, perhaps I should stay out there, ya know, for my health

Will_m

WKR