Trying to find load data but I can never find the exact bullet/powder combo?

Elite

WKR
I am fairly new to reloading so this might be a rookie question. When I try to find some load data I can never find the exact bullet I am shooting and powder combo. So I am wondering what everyone does in this situation? For example I have found a load for nosler ballistic tip in 140 but I am shooting accubonds in 140. Do I have to start at the min charge? I see some posts where guys just start at the max load with out issues

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Check out Forms thread on simple reloading. Lots of good info there.

Start at the minimum and work up.

Unless you have a ton of bullets already, might be better off searching for some “proven” combos and not reinvent the wheel

A382DWDZQ

WKR
I usually start with the bullet I want to use, then plug that into Quickload to figure out what powder I want to use out of what I have, then cross check with published load data to make sure that my numbers are not wildly off. Sometimes that ends up in line with bullet manufacturers preferred loads and sometimes not.

Last edited:
If you have a load for the ballistic tips and are switching to accubonds of the same weight, just swap them.

Nosler used to stick a little load data card in the bullet box. I've had good luck with their most accurate load recipe on the card

EdP

WKR