I'm all ears - any info on buying/building points per state?

bz_711

WKR
If anyone is willing to share the "nutshell" version to help me before trying to create my own state by state comparison...what kind of fees would I be looking at in different states if I want to begin building points for my sons and I?

I'd be interested in both "once in a lifetime" hunts that may take 15+ years of points, to the "best bang for your buck" points just to experience the west with a good chance to harvest, I'm a DIY'er and penny pincher. I love mountains, but want to experience all the West has to offer at some point - so any big game is of interest.

Any info you can offer: State, drawing costs, "net fee" after refund, quarry, approx points needed.

Appreciate any help!

Matt...I've been applying through out the west for nearly 30 years.

Deer: Colorado is your best value for deer points for a quality deer hunt. It only takes a few years to draw a quality tag, with hunting during the rut. Colorado has enough good units that it tends to keep the point creep in check somewhat.

Antelope: Wyoming is the best place to buy antelope points, you can draw a high quality tag, on public land, with only one or two points in the special draw (higher cost tag than the regular draw).

Elk: Elk buy points in Wyoming. Arizona is actually a good place to apply if you like to bow hunt. You will have to buy a hunting license (about $150) to earn points though. If you are forking out the money for elk, you might was well spend the $7.50 per species (I believe) to buy a point for deer, antelope and sheep. You can either go for the top end tags (12-16 points) or the mid tier tags (5-8 points).