2013 Blacktail Hunt Story

chevy_dog

FNG
Hey Roksliders,

I am new to the forum, so I decided to do my part by sharing my 2013 blacktail story.

I wish I had more pictures to show for, but it was a helluva trip, and I did not have much time to bother with pictures, but I will include pictures from past hunts in the area, to give you an idea. I will make this a long story, so that you guys can re-live what I did and how I got to hunting the Trinities.

I have been hunting B-Zone in the trinities for about three years. Now, I don't want to say that I am in the best shape of my life, but I can hold my own with the best of them, and you won't hear any complaints from me on the trail. I have in fact been hunting my whole life in California. Shot my first deer when i was 13 in Ukiah, and have taken respectable bucks from then on. My problem with hunting is that when I go hunting, I want to do just that, I don't go to drink beers, I don't go for the scenery, I don't go for the camaraderie, I go hunting to HUNT. In the past, I have found multiple hunting partners that say they are hunting, but they don't put in the level of effort that I require in a hunting partner. Most will get out of the truck and look at the mountain that I wanted to scout, and say "you are out of your mind!" or make little comments on the way up about how far it is, etc..., which is fine, but this is not what I want in a hunting partner. I don't want to come off sounding like a pompous jerk, but I take hunting seriously, especially if I have to take time off of work. I have spent my fair share with fair weather hunters, and noticed that most of them have tended to rely on me to put them on the deer. I am kind of over that at this point now.