2013 Ram 1500 SLT? Decent truck?

Idaboy

WKR
I found a 2013Ram 80K miles, not run off road, as looking for truck for son. I have no experience with Ram or hemi engine.

Anything to know about these? If routine maintenance would it be good to 150K?

Thanks!

Runar

FNG
I have a 2004 5.7 with 300k, original owner, original everything. 2017 5.7 with 60k, no issues. Great engine

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TheCougar

WKR
I have a 2014 1500. I do not recommend it. I had to replace the headers at 50k to get rid of the “hemi tick”. Google it, it’s a design flaw that never goes away unless you tap and remove the broken header bolts and then install a stainless aftermarket header so the bolts stop shearing. It’s ubiquitous on the early Hemi Rams - it will fail repeatedly until the permanent fix is made.

My truck is in the shop at the moment, getting the transmission replaced. The 8 speed tranny is a complete piece of crap that will start failing around 100k. It’s a thing.

The body rattles and creaks and I’m always chasing the latest sound. The seats are the most uncomfortable seats I’ve ever sat in. Caveat Emptor. I doubt your son will care about those issues, though.

If you are looking at a non-Hemi engine, the header may not be an issue. If it’s got an aluminum block and a cast iron header on it, you should plan on having to spend about $1500-2000 for parts and labor to get it fixed. I did it myself and it’s almost impossible on a 4x4. I’d pay someone to do it next time. I’m not sure how reliable the other transmissions are, but I would not buy one with an 8 speed.

18529997-CD37-42C8-A30E-328EF66C3BA9.jpeg

OP
Idaboy

Idaboy

WKR