223 AI velocity potential

Sadler

WKR
For you guys that run these, what has been your average velocity gain over a regular 223 rem? Has anyone +P one? Are you shooting the 88 ELDMs out of a short barrel?

Im currently shooting a 16” tikka in 223 and tested out some 88 ELDMs just to see how fast they’d shoot with the same load as my 77TMKs. I ended up getting 2650 at the muzzle with these. This made me wonder, if I get a barrel throated and twisted properly for the 88s, add two, maybe four inches to it, AND +P it, how much velocity gain could I get? 200 FPS? Any insight would be appreciated. I have zero experience with the 223 AI cartridge or any AI cartridge. Just for reference, my load was 24.5 grains of TAC, new Norma brass and CCI 400 primers. Can’t remember the BTO off the top of my head but the OAL with the 77s is 2.42 with a 20 thou jump to the lands.

Last edited:

EM_556

WKR
I’d be curious to see others chime in on 223AI as well. To set a reference point for comparison, when I built my rifle I went regular 223Rem.

I have a 26” barrel. Shooting suppressed. 77TMKs at 2820 fps.

I’ve heard you can still gain on top of that with the AI but I am not sure how much. You also have to consider the flexibility of the rifle as well in chambering.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

xsn10s

WKR
I haven't built one but a 22" barrel .223 AI seems like a good balance walking stick. It would give an additional 6 inches but at a more standard barrel length. And being an Ackley there should be less trimming of cases. Although I've been using a RCBS X-die to cut down on trimming with standard cases. I had a 24" M700 ADL 1-8" twist on order but got a 7mm Rem Mag instead.

mcr-85

WKR
I just put together a 22" .223ai in a Howa mini. With 25.0 grains TAC I averaged 2835 with a 77 tmk. No signs of pressure yet so I am going to keep working up.

I also have some Varget and h4895 to try. I suspect h4895 will get me some more speed.

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

OP