Aging a black bear

Tleek

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all,
I’ve never shot a bear.

I had one in my crosshairs today for the first time. It was maybe 30 yards, and would have been an incredibly easy shot. It had no idea i was there and I watched it for maybe 10 minutes.

CA law says no cubs, cubs being less than one year old or less than 50 pounds. It seems like a yearling bear would be well over 50lbs.

This bear I passed on was relatively average for what I’ve seen around here, small, but definitely greater than 50lbs. If I had to guess it was between 100-150 pounds. I’m 90 percent sure it was legal but I hesitated because I didn’t want to shoot a bear that was too young.

Does anyone have tips on aging a bear?

Field judging bears can be pretty difficult. If you Google “field judging black bears,” you can find a few tips. Head size/shape, pot belly, size in relation to something else are all indicators. I’m no expert, I shot a bear that was a good sized sow, but I thought was considerably bigger.

If it’s by itself and over 50lbs. you should shoot it. A cub will be with its mother, not by itself.

Bears are usually smaller than people think. Most often the small ones are 1.5 years old just kicked out before mating season in June. The bigger breeding boars don’t tolerate cubs. So if a bear is on its own, it’s no longer considered a cub.

A black bear cub is like teddy bear sized, can’t mistake it.

OP
Tleek

Tleek

Lil-Rokslider
If it’s by itself and over 50lbs. you should shoot it. A cub will be with its mother, not by itself.

Bears are usually smaller than people think. Most often the small ones are 1.5 years old just kicked out before mating season in June. The bigger breeding boars don’t tolerate cubs. So if a bear is on its own, it’s no longer considered a cub.

A black bear cub is like teddy bear sized, can’t mistake it.
yeah I’ve seen cubs. Mom takes off and cubs lookin all goofy follow.

Kinda kicking myself for not shooting that bear now.