Any concrete/block experts?

gregory r

Lil-Rokslider
grind out mortar joint and repoint, normally i would put an expansion material (asphalt shingles,felt paper)between the cinder block and concrete slab but your past that point. stone veneer would work also.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This right here. I have been doing masonry for 40 years. If you dont put something such as plastic, felt paper etc, on top of the 4" block, before pouring concrete on top, the concrete adheres to the block, and as it dries and cures, lifts the top row of block slightly.
You can grout, parge, cover with stone, and it will not crack again.

jags

FNG
This right here. I have been doing masonry for 40 years. If you dont put something such as plastic, felt paper etc, on top of the 4" block, before pouring concrete on top, the concrete adheres to the block, and as it dries and cures, lifts the top row of block slightly.
+1 to this.

Depending on the detail between the slab, block, vertical reinforcing etc. Concrete shrinkage lifted the top course.

OP
kipper09

kipper09

WKR

So do you suggest a re strike of the joint? I’m ok with the work but I want that joint to look right. I just don’t want the slab on top to crack

gregory r

Lil-Rokslider
So do you suggest a re strike of the joint? I’m ok with the work but I want that joint to look right. I just don’t want the slab on top to crack

You can take a 4" grinder with a 4" x 1/4 inch diamond tuckpointing blade, available at Lowes, Home depot, etc, and grind the cracked mortar out to about 1" depth. Then with a grout bag, and type S mortar, fill it, then strike it.
IMO, you have no settling, and no worries about the slab cracking, provided it is tied where it meets the house correctly, but that is a whole nother can of worms!

Agross

WKR