Archery elk vs. Rifle elk

I have archery hunted for 23 years out west. But it's my first time ever rifle hunting elk. To the group. What do you find are the biggest differences between the two besides the weapon.

Do you change tactics or do you find success because elk hunting is elk hunting?

Are you aggressive with archery and laid back with rifle?

Hippie Steve

Lil-Rokslider
What time of year? Late season (November) the bulls will pull away from the herd and are either solo or bacholored back up which is nice (preferred). October post rut, the bulls will still be with the circus of the herd. Migration routes? Their feeding habits change, they will be in transition areas before migration depending on the time of year. Where you are (terrain/elevation) and the time of year during rifle are completely different than September.

Last edited:
OP
K
This isn't about elk. What changes with you?
Example - I can't get my dad to sit still rifle hunting deer. He wants to bust brush and push timber cuts like he's blacktail hunting and it's Oct 10th mule deer. No changing who he is.

Hippie Steve

Lil-Rokslider
I don't change as a hunter just because it's a different weapon season. If he likes to walk, let him, finding elk is the hardest part. It's what you value, if you guys just want to hunt and shoot anything then just go for a walk with your rifle. If you're serious about a quality animal then you need to take it as serious as archery.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
This isn't about elk. What changes with you?
Archery - warm hunting, less clothes, less bulk, less weight, small pack, enjoyable, fun......did I mention warm?

Rifle - colder, snow, more clothes, more bulk, more weight, bigger pack, not much fun......and the cold sucks.

I still cover a lot of ground either way, but cover even more ground during rifle generally because I have to keep moving all day to stay warm. Success rates are similar, but I've shot a lot more big bulls during archery than rifle.