Arrows/BH for moose?

Hey guys. I'm fairly new to bowhunting (2019). I need to get some Arrows/ Broadheads to use for moose hunting this fall, my DW is 65 lbs and DL is 29".
Any suggestions?
Thanks

Last edited:
Opinions will vary quite a bit - I use a ~460gr total weight setup with a QAD Exodus 125gr head. Nothing dramatic, but for big critters I like a fixed blade head and love that QAD - took a lot of different species with it.

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
This last year I used my normal 520gr arrows with 125gr Exodus, but also wanted to try out a mechanical head on a moose. The first arrow would have been enough, but I took a second shot while he was still standing with a 125gr GR Fatal Steel head as well. That arrow buried almost to the fletching........4-6" sticking out. But that was a CO moose........for an AK Yukon moose I'd probably stick to the fixed blade. I'm also shooting 75lbs at almost 33" draw.

mooster

WKR
Read up on Ashby’s research, real world actual trials, 650 gr is magic number for bone breaking penetration. Sure people go lighter with success but his scientific testing points to 650gr as minimum in case off an shot. also fixed single bevel, two blade.

My pig hunting experience and lack of penetration with 125’s up front has me playing with heavier weights in prep for my fall trip.

Beendare

WKR
Any good penetrating arrow set up will work.

Heck, I shot my first moose with 2213‘s and a 75 gr Rocky Brodhead total weight was probably 380 gr. I think about 100 grains more now with a fixed tapered Brodhead For better performance.

I would stay away from the forward opening mechanical heads as there’s a huge difference between the hide on a thin white tail deer and a very thick hide of the moose.

-

hodgeman

WKR
I shot a moose last fall with my bow at 55 yards. I used a 418gr arrow with a 100gr Montec. It zipped straight through and punched a 1" triangular hole in and out and even cut a chunk out of a rib. The moose was down in under 30 seconds.