Bear kodiak out of tune

I started shooting the recurve this year, it’s a 1957 bear kodiak recurve. I finally started shooting decent, have have a well tuned arrow and then next time I shoot the bare shaft will be showing too strong so I adjust the brace height until it’s coming out straight and then next time I shoot it’s showing too weak. Part of this is probably me but Could unstringing the bow after every time shooting cause the brace height/ tune to change even though the string isn’t coming off of the limbs? Would leaving this bow strung be harmful considering it’s age?

You could tell if the brace is moving by measuring the string to the bow and check it each time. It is possible you are twisting the string and it is untwisting when you restring it or if the string is older it might be stretching.

Leaving a recurve strung doesn’t hurt the bow much in my opinion. If you leave it strung for years or in a damp basement it might weaken the limbs over time but during the season I have mine strung for most of it and have never had issues. I do unstrung it if I don’t plan to shoot it for a few weeks but for almost two months it is strung and shot daily during the season.

Beendare

WKR
Yeah, to diagnose your issue it would help if you gave more information on your setup, experience level how are you shoot the string material what arrow spine, all of that.

OP
S