Berger 170gr EOL vs Matrix 165gr VLD plus freebies!

dotman

WKR
270 Win - Berger 170gr EOL vs Matrix 165gr VLD plus freebies!

Note to Rokslide Members. To make this post extra interesting, Berger and Rokslide have teamed up to giveaway two 25ct packages of the 170gr EOL .277 bullets. To enter, all you need to do is post questions or comments on this thread. If you don’t have anything to say but want to be entered anyway, just post a comment “count me in”. Robby will draw from the names of everyone who posted. It’s fine to post multiple times but your name will only be counted once in the drawing. You have 7 days to enter.

I want to thank Rokslide and Berger for letting me test out (donating) the new 170gr EOL, my main goal was to see IF it would stabilize in my 1:10 twist barrel, 1:8 is recommended by Berger. The Matrix bullet was my next bullet of choice that I purchased myself and is known to stabilize in a 1:10 twist barrel.

Now I'm not an expert by any means, I use a very simplistic approach to reloading in that I only use my press to either Full Length size or Neck size my cases. LE Wilson bullet seating dies have become my tool of choice and produce very very consistent results.

The rifle I'm using for this test is a Forbes 24B in 270 Win. Both bullets were loaded with the same exact components:

Powder - Alliant RL26
Brass - Winchester
Primer - Winchester Standard Large Rifle

Both bullets were loaded .02 off the lands which was way past fitting in my mag box, this was used for initial load development as there is very little information out there for max loads. I'm not going to post my actual loads but I will say I think Robby was nervous at first when I showed him my initial testing. To test I used the Audette Ladder method as I had a limited quantity of Bergers and time to figure out a load. Also Berger has come out with load data for various powders and the 170 EOL, if it isn't on their website just send them an email asking nicely for it.