Berger 245 EOL Best Cartridge

OP
treillw

treillw

WKR
88.5 grains of N570, great penetration and usually pass through.
I would expect that to thump a good bit. I'm playing with the recoil calculator online. It generates 58.53 ft*lb of recoil energy and I was getting 45 for a RUM and 30 for my WIN.

You're not like a boxer or something....? haha

I know this is an older post, but just saw it. For what it’s worth, I have some experience with the monster 30 cals.
The 30-378 has been around for decades, but is known to need a long ass barrel to get the potential out of it.
I shot a Lazzeroni Warbird for quite a while. Few years back I switched from a 180 Barnes going Mach 2 to the 230gr Berger Hybrid shooting a hair under 3000. Barrel is 1:10 and magazine length was my limiting factor on COAL. It could handle the 245, but I think you’d want a 1:9 to be safe and magazine length may force you to seat the bullets a little deeper to get them to cycle smoothly.
The monster 30 cals are bad ass and all. Hit like the hand of god. We’ve killed a lot of bulls with it. All that said… when I dumped several grand into a custom build, I built a 300WM. And to top that, I just built a “deer” gun that is like carrying a suppressed pop gun. 4lbs 12oz. I needed it… So obviously I have migrated away from the sledgehammer thrower over the last several years.
Just another caliber for you to research in the recliner at nights.

OP
treillw

treillw

WKR
I know this is an older post, but just saw it. For what it’s worth, I have some experience with the monster 30 cals.
The 30-378 has been around for decades, but is known to need a long ass barrel to get the potential out of it.