Building a 6.5 PRC with a peak 44 stock

pjww805

FNG
Gents,

I've dug through this forum and others and can't quite find the definitive answer (apologies if this has been answered and I'm blind). Looking to build a 6.5 PRC with the anti-x defiance "medium" action (not the XM) and bed it in a peak 44 stock. from what I have read the medium is built off the short action platform. When ordering a peak 44 they only have 2 options, Short and Long. My question is, is the hole spacing on a Defiance Anti-x Medium the same as a short action? I've picked up a backcountry 2.0 and enjoyed the feel of the Blacktooth plus there pricing is better than a manner. From what I understand yes but want to make sure as these purchases are not cheap 😆 . Yes I'm new to putting guns together and it's a lot to take in!

Build Consists of

156 Berger (possibly reloads down the road)
XM Anti X
20" Proof Research CF Barrel
Manners Pro Hunter
Trigger Tech
Hawkins XM Bottom Metal
Hawkins lightweight rings
Thunder Beast .30 cal ULTRA 7" Can(on order)
VX-6HD 4x24(maybe an NX8)

Last edited:
OP
pjww805

pjww805

FNG
Looks like the Defiance “medium” and Wyatt’s box kit will get me what I need. Peak44 currently doesn’t make an inlet for the XM model so Medium/wyatts is the route I’ll most likely go.

OP
pjww805

pjww805

FNG
after digging deeper, ive went with the anti x XM action and Manners Pro Hunter(limited selection)

anyone ever remove the ARCA RAIL to save some weight? outside of possibly at the range i dont see myself ever using it?

Can and Stock ordered. talking with a supplier monday to get action and barrel ordered.

We have a solid gunsmith intown, do i order a prefit barrel or let him set the headspace?

khuber84

WKR
after digging deeper, ive went with the anti x XM action and Manners Pro Hunter(limited selection)

anyone ever remove the ARCA RAIL to save some weight? outside of possibly at the range i dont see myself ever using it?