Clothing for end of September moose hunt out of Bethel

FLAK

WKR
I did a 10 day Brown Bear hunt out of Bethel back in '11. I wore Microtek, polypro Underwear and a 3/4 length HH Impertech. That HH and Croc OR gaiters were the stuff. And that Microtek just wont stay wet for long. I wore an old pair of Cabelas Mtn Hunter Leather boots that performed flawlessly. Carhart fleece Beanie and a Goretex boonie hat. This hunt started at the end of sept and went well into Oct. Rained or snowed every dang day.

New member here soaking up info like a sponge. Thanks everyone for sharing years of experience with those of us who have not experience a moose hunt. I am booked for September 2021 and look forward to more of this great insight!

OP
mcseal2

mcseal2

WKR
I went synthetic. I don't own a down bag though, I figure that bag is my last line of defense against the cold and wet. I crawl in it with wet layers to dry them out quite a bit. I have a Kifaru Slickbag 20 degree that has treated me well and is what I took on the hunt in AK. I've slept in it down to 0 degrees with my Darn Tough socks, Aerowool base layers, and Kuiu Peloton 240 hoody on inside it.

AKDoc

WKR
I used synthetic for decades up here, but switched to "treated down" (pro/con arguments aside) about seven years ago. Given all the advantages of synthetic in wet conditions, I was initially real nervous about that switch for remote trips where I'm 2+ weeks in the field.

However, the compressibility and space/weight savings with down have been a real nice bonus, and I'm glad I switched. That said, I'm pretty compulsive about keeping it dry, and I air it out on good wx days (if/when they come). I also take a compact thermal insert with me for the multi-week trips, just in case (S to S Thermolite Reactor Extreme), but I've never needed/used it. I also always use a good R-rated sleeping pad with my ultra-lite cot.

Last edited:

Larry Bartlett

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor