Colorado S9 Bighorn

rbprince

FNG
Rokslide Newbie here - Finally drew my S9 tag and was referred by a fellow CO hunter to this site. Thought I'd start up a conversation/post to chat about my upcoming hunt. Haven't set foot in the unit yet besides a trip or two to the Sand Dunes in past years, but based on some previous posts here and other forums its going to be a challenging hunt. I've always been a DYI hunter and plan to do the same here, bringing along my trusty pack mule (aka #1 Son).

Anyway, I'll try to keep the post updated if anyone is interested. Hoping to make the first trip to the unit in a couple weeks.

This will probably be my first and only ram hunt, unless I'm still able to climb the mtn when my son finally draws a tag. Hope that doesn't take another 10yrs. Any help with info, etc. appreciated.

Great Site.

OP
R

rbprince

FNG
Thanks - I'll be sure to send some updates. I'm thankful for all the snow this year, but can't wait for some of it to melt so I can get up the mtn. Anyone been down that way or know if some of the trails are clear yet ?

OP
R

rbprince

FNG
Rifle or bow?

I have the kill locations saved on my computer, if you can't find them. PM me your email address.
Rifle Tag -
Thanks, I've got the DOW kill locations, etc - just don't know if I trust them...lol
Itching to get into the unit but want to make sure the trails are open and not waste a trip.

pods8 (Rugged Stitching)

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I am trying to go fishing at a lake this weekend up along the divide a little further north, reading roads are still snowed in last week 11k. Going to go out anyways I think (likely taking my 9yr old), worst case I just fish lower down stuff. I can let you know what I see. IIRC when I scouted an area at 11k July 9 last year there was a fair bit of north slope snow still, I think this year will be worse. If your time is limited I think I'd concentrate more late July thru Aug.

OP
R

rbprince

FNG