Elk Terrain and Hunting Technique's

I am new to Elk hunting but have been hunting deer for a long time. I have been practicing calling and have done some scouting, but plan on doing a lot more scouting this summer to narrow down units and specific areas to hunt.

I will be hunting the early archery season.

What type of terrain do folks focus on and why? Thinking of hiking ridges and creek bottoms and doing some calling. Depending on the area I choose to buy my tag, the terrain can vary from being pretty thick, to open areas that can be easily glassed.

What techniques do folks suggest for thick county? What about areas I can glass?

Any books folks recommend?

Any information on technique or terrain to focus on that will help me increase my odds is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

Gerbdog

WKR
Pretty broad question and everyone's got their own techniques for this. I think you basically already hit all the techniques though:

If its thick without glassing opportunity its good to be calling or ambushing .... brings those binos anyway, you'd be surprised how helpful they still are in the thick stuff

If you have opportunity to glass big areas ... do it.... glass can cover a lot of area very quickly and save you a lot of time hiking over.

Ultimately i dont think ive hunted a place yet that didnt offer the opportunity to do a bit of both.... being a well rounded elk hunter is going to make you successful.

For instance my day will usually start hunting the real thick stuff and calling, hoping to catch the elk moving, and eventually im going to be up top... or im going to end up with some windows through the thick stuff ... and ill have a view of an adjacent hillside, mountain, etc. and ill stop and glass a bit. I like to sit back and glass openings in the thick stuff before i get up on them too... and if you come across aspen groves in the middle of the pine forests.... glass those from a distance.... glass them very well.....