First Bow - buy from local shop or private

Brehmer22

FNG
I am looking to get into bow hunting and would love some advice. I have a local pro shop that carries Mathews, Bowtech, Bear and others. I would like to support local but I can’t afford the flagship bows. I don’t know if it makes more sense to get a mid level bow like the Bear Alaskan brand new or hit the classifieds and get a used flagship. Near me is a Bowtech Prodigy that comes with all accessories for $650 or a Bowtech Realm X bare for $550. I’m sure they’ll all work well for me but would like to hear from your experience. Thanks in advance!

Dave_S

FNG
I'm new to the bow game as well. If you're anything like me, you don't know nearly enough to buy a used bow from somebody. Go into the shop, tell them what kind of budget you have, and let them do the rest. The archery shop I went to helped me with everything from draw length, to accessories (which ones I really needed to spend money on and which I could save on), to getting me sited in and helping me out with form.

Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk

Mag_7s

WKR
I'm not an archery or bow expert but I would try as many bows that you can get your hands on. You will find that one will naturally feel better than others, and you will more likely than not shoot that one better as well. Also, it is important to get properly measured for your draw length. Once you have done a little homework, know your dimensions and what bow fits you well you can make a decision. There is nothing wrong with buying a used bow. A lot of shops actually carry used bows. Last years flag ship models really wont be that much different. Bow technology really isn't making leaps and bounds as they were 10 years ago.

First order of business is to get your draw length measured and figure out how much weight you can draw comfortably. Knowing those two things will help narrow down your bow search.