First high country deer hunt.

magedon44

FNG
Hi All,
I’m planning my first high county deer hunt this year during Idaho’s general tag hunt Oct 10-24th. I have little experience hunting mule deer and especially high county ones so I’m asking for some guidance to stack the odds in my favor.

First- I’m contemplating dates. I know mid Oct. is tough and from what I’m reading deer are going to be hard to find bedded in cover and only moving first and last light?? I don’t know if I should hunt the opener or the last week of the season. I was thinking with the end of the season maybe I might catch some bucks moving more due to a little pre rut activity?

Second- Terrain, We will be camped ¾ mountain in a small basin with water. Above us we plan to climb onto the ridge tops and kind of “run & gun” glassing into holes and other side hills. My question is, Oct 10-24th What type of terrain should we focus glassing into? There’s area in this country with heavy timber and other areas are more open with patches of timber on steep side hills also lots of open rocky side hills.. I’m from PA so my scouting it ahead of season is not going to happen.. Im going in blind.

Any advice is greatly appreciated…Thanks.

Azone

WKR
I would go towards the end of the season and concentrate on the areas with patches of timber and open country if you're going to be glassing. This will up your chances of seeing deer heading back to their beds after feeding at night. Odds are if you chase them in the heavy timber they're gonna bust you before you see them, but if you're a good stalker anything is possible. Also when changing basins or drainages stay off the ridgelines and don't skyline yourself, you might as well yell hey deer I'm over here if you do that.