Food plot soil sample

Novashooter

Lil-Rokslider
I've been putting in food plots on some private land for the past 3 years with moderate success. This was the first year I've taken a soil sample. This is a completely new field, it was nothing but grass and flowers in the spring. I killed it off with multiple sprays of Roundup. On the final one I pulled a small disc around to break everything up, and I sprayed one more time for any left over green. The next day I took my soil sample, and planted my seeds. About 2/3rds is northwoods whitetails fall forage blend, the other 1/3 is sweet feast brassica. The total area of the field is just a touch over 1/2 acre according to onx maps.

I'll post my soil samples below. I've never tried reading one before, and I don't know what ideal levels are. I can follow the fertilizer chart, but I also notice the magnesium level is listed as very high. In reading online, it seems sulfur is often recommended to lower magnesium level, yet I don't see it recommended on this soil report. I notice something in the top right listed as CEC, what is that? Also, is there anything wrong with a 34% organic matter? I often see it online where guys have 3% or something and want to raise it. I've never seen anyone talk about a crazy number like 34%.

Hey there! I’d be glad to help you with this. Could you send seed tags of the two blends you put in? I’m a crop advisor in Montana so Alabama might be a push, but I do look at a lot of samples and these seem to be intriguing!

OP
N

Novashooter

Lil-Rokslider
I have no idea what a seed tag is. I'll link the two below. I'm actually not in Alabama, I blacked out my name and adress. Alabama is the testing facility. This sample is from Alexandria, Minnesota. I doubt it will ever be perfect. This is kind of low land. Not swampy, but it gets mushy in the spring. As long as I get an acceptable crop, I'll be plenty happy.