How did you decide on your scope?

cfdjay

WKR
I'm pretty new to rifle hunting. I've had some basic setups over the years but I'm 95% a bow guy. I recently got into the rabbit hole of rifles and rifle hunting due to increasing my opportunities to get out west. I ended up with a Browning Hell's Canyon in 6.8 western.

With all that being said, now I'm stuck with deciding on the glass. How did you decide on yours? What was important? So many options out there and so many reviews. Curious to hear your algorithm of decision. Thanks!

tcpip95

Lil-Rokslider
For me, the first thing I considered was what distance would be my maximum limit that I’d feel comfortable in taking a shot. That narrowed it down to a 3-15 magnification range. Next I looked at the reticle that I liked. From there I looked at my budget. How much was I willing to stretch my budget out to? Then, at that point I looked at the manufacturers.

In the end I settled on Leupold. I got the VX-5HD 3-15x44 for my 30-06.

For my lever action 45-70 I knew I wouldn’t be shooting longer than 200 yards with this gun, so I got a Leupold VH-3HD 1-5x20 Firedot.

wapitibob

WKR
I had a $1,000 Leupold that shifted poi, sent it back, it moved again while shooting at the range, sent it back and sold it. We were making parts for nightforce at the time, had a cpl ex leupold employees working for us and after some conversation bought an NXS. Used it for years, sold it to fund a rifle build, bought 2 swfa's, and am now replacing those with another NXS. I kind of looked at other models but I know what I'm getting with the NF. A friend used to work at NF and has a vx5 on one of his rifles and a vortex razor hd. It all boils down to your experiences or an opinion from someone you trust.