How much food

Below is what I eat each day on back pack trips. I’ve been doing backpack hunts for over 20 years and this is perfect for me. It’s probably on the low side for some. If I remember correctly it’s about 1.5 lb per day

I do add in a tortilla to go with some mountain house meals. On some trips I also eliminate 1 of the cliff or protein bars per day with 3 pieces of cheese, 3 pieces of summer sausage, and 3 triscuits. The 3 pieces of cheese and homemade summer sausage per day are individually vacuum sealed. I’ve had no issues up to 5 days with the cheese and sausage vacuum sealed in late summer early fall.

*3 packets instant oatmeal vacuum sealed

*1 or 2 cliff bars/protein bars

*2 cups low fat granola, 1/2 cup instant milk, 1/2 cup freez dried strawberries vacuum sealed

*2 Starbucks via

*2 powdered pedialyte/Gatorade packets

*Mountain house meal for dinner

*1 oz jerky

*1/4 cup mixed nuts

rclouse79

WKR
Early on I always packed too much, and have dialed it down to where I just come out with a less ridiculous amount of food. I have never done ten days. I might buy a candy bar for $20 around day 8.

elktacos

FNG
I’m not recommending to do what I do just highlighting how we’re all different. I’d error on the higher side if you’re not sure. I am probably the odd one out but I eat less than normal when hunting/fishing. With a heavy pack and serious hiking every day I’ll force myself to eat around 1900 calories I think it was 1.25lbs of food a day for 6 days last year and I had a little left over. I usually feel really good and lose a few lbs. I like most of what I bring too. I guess my body is telling me I’m overweight. I still always bring an extra day of food for insurance even if I’m just a half day hike from the truck.

Alegault

Lil-Rokslider
I usually weigh in just under 165. I shoot for ~2500 calories and try to stay under 1.5 lbs per day (closer to 1.3 if I can).

Template I try to follow:C2A8073F-267B-40CA-970F-3DBC1527A1BE.jpeg