How to hunt with horses?

Chase0109

FNG
Hi,

I have quite a few questions on horseback hunting and I figured I would ask to experienced horseback hunters here to help me figure some things out. This is my first Post on Rokslide, but I have read most of the stock threads on here. Since this is my first post I will give a little background on myself.

I am 36 years old and in pretty good shape. I live in Texas at 1800’ elevation. I have been hunting since I was 12 years old. I lived my entire life in Minnesota until I moved to Texas in the spring of 2018. No one in my immediate family hunts so I had to teach myself how to hunt. I did a lot deer hunting in my teenage years with both shotgun and bow. I killed quite a few deer, but never a mature buck. Mostly hunted for the experience and meat. I was born into the reptile industry and have kept everything under the sun reptile wise over the years. I started handling raptors when I was 8 years old. I became a licensed falconer and trapped my first red tail hawk at 15. Once I started falconry my big game hunting took a back seat, and eventually went away. I haven’t shot a bow since I was 20. I focused all my time and energy on falconry and my specialty is hunting jackrabbits off the fist with golden eagles. I have caught jacks rabbits with my eagle in 10 states so far. 3 years ago I decided to start getting back into big game hunting. I killed a doe in Minnesota with my muzzleloader. I love spring turkey hunting and have taken 10 or so gobblers in 4 states over the years. A couple friends are big into bow hunting elk and gave me the bug to look into elk hunting the rut that because I love turkey hunting so much.