Howa 1500 Build... or Overbuild?

BSR

FNG
Good morning to all,

First time post, long time reader. Lots of wisdom on here and much appreciated.

I'll get right to it, I am looking to piece together a short barreled 6.5 CM using a Howa 1500 barreled action that I have. The barreled action came off a "Hogue Compact" model, its a 16.5" heavy barrel, extra on the heavy. I manage a ranch for a living and this rifle will be with me 24/7. I purchased my first suppressor a few months ago, and in anticipation of that later on this year, starting toying with the idea of a shorter barreled rifle to take the place of my current 7mm-08 that has been my go to for many years.

My dilemma is the following: This rifle will be with me all of the time, and is shot regularly. Because it is with me all of the time, it will take a lot of abuse in the form of dust/bumping in the truck/packed through the brush/etc. The 7mm-8 was a budget rifle, and did its job well, and I was never concerned about the bumps and bruises because it was a budget rifle. This new Howa build was originally going to be the same, just a shorter barrel to allow for the suppressor without being too cumbersome to get out of a truck window in a hurry. On the other end of the spectrum, it is the rifle that I shoot the most, and rely on every day, so part of me wants to upgrade every aspect of it and use it as was originally intended. Carbon stock, new trigger, fluting to reduce some weight, cerakote, etc.

I guess bottom line question is, am I putting lipstick on a pig? Im looking at putting $1500+ into a $500 barreled action. I need the rifle to hold one minute to 500 yards, this is not a 1000 yard build, or 1/2 MOA target rifle. Most shots under 200 yards, which is why I was good with a 6.5CM and the short barrel. Im not hand loading for it, just quality hunting ammo. Coyotes/Hogs/Whitetail

Just looking for some honest feedback before I start ordering parts or sending out the barreled action for upgrades.