Hunting Supressed

D-String

FNG
For those of you who hunt suppressed, do you leave the suppressor attached while packing in to your backcountry hunting area, or do you use a quick attach system and keep the van in your pack?

I have been shooting suppressed for a few years on a couple long range rifles, but have just recently received a lighter weight suppressor from “jail”, with the plans to use it on my light weight hunting rifles. I have the new loads worked up with the new suppressor and love the increase in accuracy and the fact that my ears will be better protected (I always forget or don’t take the time to put in plugs in the heat of the moment). However, I am worried about the extra length and maneuvering in the woods, and about unintentionally damaging the barrel threads if I leave the suppressor off until I need it.
Thanks in advance for your advice and wisdom!

I've done both, but usually just leave it on anymore. If I'm packing in some distance, the gun is usually strapped to my pack and it's not a big deal to have it on. I have taken it off when crawling through the alders on a goat hunting approach and one or two other times. Once I'm hunting, it just stays on. Caveat is that I'm using a 18.5" barrel. If yours is longer, it could get annoying.

For thread protection on my DT, I usually just do a couple wraps of electrical tape. I like to keep the muzzle covered, so an extra wrap around the threads is easy, then I just try not to bang my barrel on the rocks more than I have too. Clearly not a solution if you want to attach/detach quickly, but that hasn't been an issue for my uses.

I just leave it on. You never know when you may need to take a quick shot. I even have quick disconnect for my can and I still leave it on. The extra length is not that big of a deal.

Subscribed. I just got my first suppressor and am wondering about taking it on an elk hunt this year. Good to see others hunting with theirs.

J.Davis

FNG