I have a really stupid question

PuckLuck

FNG
I grew up backpacking and fishing in the California Sierra. Given the rugged country, especially the farther back you got, staying on trails was highly advised. I'm currently planning my first deer hunt in California and everything I've read says you need to get off trail (even better if you never go to a trailhead).

Aside from a SPOT device, a hard map, and a GPS system with waypoints plotted out...is there anything I should be doing to make sure I don't get turned around in the woods and lost? I'm going to be solo hunting - and I'd really prefer to do it myself and not hire a guide (even if it is my first time). I like to learn by doing. I've never gotten lost before, but there have been a few times where I've spent a couple of hours trying to figure out where I was. Just wanted to get everyone's thoughts - especially those that hunt out west.

Justin Crossley

Administrator
Staff member
I would recommend downloading onX or BaseMap to your phone. That's all I use unless I need my InReach for staying in touch with friends and family.

I am one of those exceptionally fortunate people that (thus far) has never been lost. But, look back behind you often, so you recognize the forward view on your way out/back.

mhabiger

FNG
If you can hunt off some familiar trails first that might be a good starting place. Its easy to keep your wits about you until you get on some animals. Then you might find your mind singlely focused :) At least that would happen to me when I was younger and hunting unfamiliar ground. Get on some deer in thick cover and stalk them and 30 min later find myself a little disoriented.

Also only time I was ever lost I relied on a GPS to take me through a .5 mile pine bog in MN. Kept losing signal and the digital compass was worthless. Bad idea, wished I had a mechanical compass on me at the time. Sounds like you've got land nav part covered already, so should be good there.

WRM

WKR