Is it worth it to go to a 0 degree SG Chilkoot bag?

Looking at these numbers you dont really get another 15 degrees going to the 0 from the 15. Is it worth the cost and weight to go with the 0?

1707160160391.png

Taudisio

WKR
I have no experience with the SG or specific bag, I do have experience with opting for a heavier/colder rated bag. I’ll carry the weight any day. Long story short, camped during summer high up. Expected overnight lows in the 40’s. Woke up to my buddies truck starting and driving off just before sunrise. I was sleeping in my underwear and had no idea it was 19 degrees out. He came back later and said he had to get in the truck to warm up. Plenty of other similar experiences in the back country. I can not function on little/no sleep.

Imo unless you are going to be in some very cold temps on a regular basis, it’s not worth it. I have the 0 degree and it’s way too hot for me but I’m also a very hot sleeper. I’ll probably be selling it soon honestly. The bag itself is awesome quality and I love everything about it other than it’s too warm for me to use it 99% of the year for my style of hunting.

Edit to add: yes buy a chillkoot bag I just wouldn’t need the 0 degree personally. Will be trying the quilt mod in the future though

Last edited:

Backcountry_Preacher

Lil-Rokslider
Classified Approved
Yes it’s worth it! Me and my wife both have 0 degree SG bags and love them. She said they’re worth every penny. We’ve even used them in the summer like quilts and slept comfortably. This past year, I slept in the back of my truck with one, was showered on, rain froze, and I never got cold or wet. Love them.IMG_4519.jpeg

Yes it’s worth it! Me and my wife both have 0 degree SG bags and love them. She said they’re worth every penny. We’ve even used them in the summer like quilts and slept comfortably. This past year, I slept in the back of my truck with one, was showered on, rain froze, and I never got cold or wet. Love them.