It band syndrem

My it band has fired up and im looking for any insight on what has worked for you guys fixing it. Im looking for runners/ultra guys input since thats were im coming from. Im new to the long long running. I did my first marathon last year and first 50k april 1st.
The root of my problem i would guess is overtraining. Then my diwn hill form is what made my it band fire up. I did a marathon, 2 50k’s and a marsthon in a 4or 5 week span. A 50k and a marathon 5 days apart when it started.
So from my research it looks like i need to focus on strengthening my glutes with stuff like single leg squats keeping my knees over my toes. I think my knee goes inwards on the down hills. Also stretching my tfl seems to be a problem i need to address. Any itger tips from guys who have gotten over this. Also pavement running hasnt seemed to bother it much at all. so would you think id be fine doing that at a reduced milage just to not completely stop? Thanks for any help!

Edit: i also noticed i dont stay square going down hill. On stairs its easier to notice that i lead with my left leg/hip forward a bit more and my right leg has the issue which is were form is the issue i believe

Last edited:
Strength and mobility above and below the IT band is the ticket. Sounds like you’re on the right track with your research into KOT type exercise. A more boring approach is the Myrtl routine, which is pretty much all your tedious PT exercises—and they work if you do them consistently. You can get away with running as much as doesn’t cause you inflammation. Good luck, I’m periodically in the same boat!

sacklunch

WKR
Rolling above and below followed by targeted stretches (hips/quads/hammies) are what helped me last time mine gave me grief.

I didn't stop running, I just cut back the mileage a bit for a couple weeks.

OP
WI in the west