Jerky Cure Screw Up

Hello all, first time posting here. I need some help from the jerky/meat cure experts (I should’ve reached out before now but here I am). This is my first time making whole muscle jerky with a marinade and cure that didn’t come in a pre-measured kit. In a rookie move, I made a grossly wrong assumption that the pink cure salt I had bought was a like for like replacement for the Morton’s Tender Quick called for in the recipe, I mean they’re both “cure salts” right? I realized my error soon after I had everything in a ziplock and in the fridge, but the meat was still in the concoction for 30-45min. I pulled it out, rinsed it, made a new marinade and skipped cure salt altogether this time (figured it got a lot/enough already). My question is will the meat be safe to eat despite being in the heavily concentrated marinade for that period of time? Obviously the concern is the sodium nitrate being not so great for you. Aside from how it may taste, I want to believe that the short time it soaked and fact that there is none in the current marinade means it should be fine but am unsure. Thanks in advance.

rclouse79

WKR
I have saved many a meal via the rinse method. I am no jerky expert, but I will venture a guess that you will turn out just fine.

ScottRK

Lil-Rokslider
Google the meat smoking forum and your cure and jerky.Those guys have a lot of info on the differences on those cures.

Looking on here now and before your thread here most don’t use any cure for jerky.

Gbrecka

Lil-Rokslider
I never used to use cure in my wet marinade jerky, but I usually packaged it in smaller batches and would freeze until it was ready to go hunting. Then it would get eaten that day.

OP
T
Google the meat smoking forum and your cure and jerky.Those guys have a lot of info on the differences on those cures.

Looking on here now and before your thread here most don’t use any cure for jerky.
Thank you, I will have to jump in there and ask some questions.