Kowa 602 vs Nikon ED50, had them together for a couple hours today.

Caveat, i'm no optics expert, I know how to use them and find stuff to kill so take this hunter perspective for what it is! I have plenty of pictures of the spotters/what I looked at etc. and when I load them i'll get them here but all I got time for right now is copy/paste what I emailed a few key buddies/family. Hope this helps anyone shopping at the flyweight end of spotters.

So the 60mm poly body NON-ED glass Kowa 602 spotter finally arrived. Its 480 bucks for the body and about 370 bucks for the 20-60x eyepiece(Robinsons camera downtown Calgary). So a viable alternative price wise to the ED50 with 13-40x eyepiece. Note: The 664 I also have came in at $1320 bucks for body and eyepiece fyi. Kowa 664 is 66mm with ED glass and 2 lb 13.5 oz, the Kowa 602 is 60mm NON-ED glass and 2 lb 1.5 oz (3/4 lb lighter) both are 20-60x and use exact same eyepiece. So the 602 is under $1k and a lot of scope for the money and weight…the whole reason I decided to get one and see for myself. I have already compared the ED50 to the 664 but this time the ED50 gets compared to the 602…incredibly close battle ensues.

Note: ED50’s have been discontinued and same with the 13-40x eyepiece….both are rare birds. Keep that in mind, at least if a guy smashes his ED50 up or has some sort of failure…the way to go to replace is definitely this kowa 602.

First, weight, the complete Kowa 602 is 2 lb 1.5 oz with factory protective lens caps on both ends. This is exactly 9 oz heavier than the complete ED50 with end caps which is 1 lb 6.5 oz….or a touch over ½ lb heavier.

Its longer by quite a bit but not really that much fatter.

I spent 2 hours comparing these two spotters today, up to 1.9 km’s on street signs with letters, horses in pastures, and even further than a couple km’s on a cell tower of some sort.