Land Purchase question

FLATHEAD

WKR
Looking at buying a piece of land, bordering a NF.
Realtor indicates that neither he nor the seller (out of state) has any knowledge
of mineral right ownership under the property.
And the contract states so, even releases them from liability regarding the matter.
Owner lives out of state and is selling several hundred acres.
This has me kind of hesitant to proceed.
Thoughts??????

OP
F

FLATHEAD

WKR
Is there a lot of fracking going on in that area?
None that I know of.
Contract also mentions no warranty of ownership of
mineral rights (including sand and gravel).
It is a rocky, mountainous kind of place and I know
that rocks and gravel are often mined/sold.
Just strikes me as odd that neither the realtor or the owner
has any knowledge of it.

dylanvb

Lil-Rokslider
None that I know of.
has any knowledge of it.
Yeah, I’m fairly new to all this stuff as we just moved into an area where mineral rights and water rights are a thing to think about but as far as I know if they find gold under your property or oil that’s when mineral rights become an issue. I am pretty sure someone will chip in who has more knowledge then I do.
Can you go to a title agency about the records? Someone should have some knowledge about it.

philos

Super Moderator
Staff member
Maybe go to the county records offices and locate the deed and/or the mortgage documents. Then find attorney who handled the settlement or another attorney or title agent who has the knowledge your seek

Legend

WKR
Looking at buying a piece of land, bordering a NF.
Realtor indicates that neither he nor the seller (out of state) has any knowledge
of mineral right ownership under the property.
And the contract states so, even releases them from liability regarding the matter.
Owner lives out of state and is selling several hundred acres.
This has me kind of hesitant to proceed.
Thoughts??????