landmark success and rug alternatives

T3clay

Lil-Rokslider
Hello everyone, I have been a forum member for a few years and haven’t posted a lot but this fall
Has been quite the experience so far, so I thought id share a story.

I have been building points for 7 years to hunt bears in MN (it usually only takes 4 but several times I had conflicts). This spring (April) I knew I’d have time to hunt and enough points to draw a tag. so myself, my son, and several Others applied for tags, and we ended up
With a group of 5 of us getting tags (3 adults and 2 kids)

Fast forward to May 12, 2023 at 32 years old I was diagnosed with Cancer, specifically, stage 4 classic Hodgkin’s lymphoma. So that sucked… but I started chemo almost immediately and was determined to make the hunt work. In late June I had a follow up scan which showed extreme progress and “no signs of active disease”. At this point my doctors are Hopeful that the cancer can be completely cured

We went and started baiting and put in 13 baits opening weekend. Throughout the baiting season, we continue to bait and monitor trail, cam pictures, and had some good action from a variety size of bears. With acorns starting to drop or baits slowed down the week before the season opener

The first day of the hunt I sat morning and evening and was able to harvest the biggest bear coming into this bait with my bow. This is also my first Bear harvest. She field dresses 195 LBS. I know this isn’t a record bear by any means, but for central MN this is decent size sow.

The 2nd day of the hunt I sat with my son(15). we started battling acorns and brutal heat wave. One night on stand was 95 degrees… One of the kids in the group ended up shooting his first bear which field dressed 138 Lbs.

We will be headed up next weekend to see if we can fill the remaining tags. We are hoping that cooler temperatures and a week of bears eating acorns might push them back onto the baits a little more.