Mystery ranch Metcalf - just arrived. First impression

buckwalleye

Lil-Rokslider
I just got my mystery ranch Metcalf in optifade subalpine in the mail yesterday. This is my first real pack - so I am a complete novice and have nothing to compare it to. I researched every high end pack on this forum and many many YouTube videos. The main selling point for this pack for me was price point. ($420 to my door with promo)

I'm 6 foot 210 pounds athletic build. I wear a 32x34 pant. I feel like I have a short torso. I ordered the pack in medium.

First impression was very well packaged, durable bag material, and LOTS of buckles! It was sinched down as tight as possible in the box and appeared very streamlined. Zippers seem heavy duty and kind of rubberized to keep it water resistant. The buckles are solid, and I like the little locker they all have. It really seems to, well, lock the buckle down so it doesn't have an opportunity to slide. The waist belt feels pretty rigid, but comfortable. I like how you tighten the waist belt by pulling inwards - keeps everything tight and tidy. Shoulder straps feel nice and padded, comfortable. Thick(ish) pad on the lumbar.

When detaching the bag from the frame I kinda wish you could just unclip it. There is a total of 4 buckles where you have to unthread them. Not a huge deal I guess, but I'm thinking in cold weather this is a job to do without gloves. I like the built in meat shelf. It adjusts easily to extend the pack away from the frame. (I hope I get to test this out with an elk quarter!) Also it doesn't appear that theres a way to completely detach bag from frame to utilize as a meat hauler only. I noticed some threads where guys were modifying/putting other load shelves in to solve this. I tried to stuff my 3 year old in between the pack and frame and go for a walk. He wasn't a big fan of this idea, so we scrapped that plan about as soon as it started. Tag inside says "designed in USA, made in the Philippines".