Neck crack

Zak406

Lil-Rokslider
Hey guys. Does anyone know what would cause this? I loaded up some sst about four years ago. After I started shooting them I decided I didn’t like the results so I shelved them for a bit.

Today I went to shoot them so I can re use the brass.

4 out of 12 shots resulted in some sort of neck cracking.

The load I was shooting is a .308 with winchester primers and a 44 grains of imr 4064 with 150 grain hornady sst. The brass has never been fired.

The max load on this is 44.7 grains. I shoot the same load with a gmx bullet and have only had this happen one time in 4 years.

Does anyone know what would cause this?

Attachments

• IMG_4281.jpeg
    IMG_4281.jpeg
    89.6 KB · Views: 56
  • IMG_4280.jpeg
    IMG_4280.jpeg
    121.1 KB · Views: 56
I’ve had some split on the first firing using Winchester brass in the blue bag.
Annealing them seems to have worked but I shouldn’t have had to flame new brass

SDHNTR

WKR
How many firings on them? You can easily work harden the brass with excessive resizing. Also, if the loaded rounds are that old you could have some cold weld issues sticking the bullets inside the brass.

OP
Z

Zak406

Lil-Rokslider
How many firings on them? You can easily work harden the brass with excessive resizing. Also, if the loaded rounds are that old you could have some cold weld issues sticking the bullets inside the brass.

This was the first time these were fired. Albeit they have been loaded up for 4 years.

SDHNTR

WKR
I'm betting cold weld. Put a loaded round in your seating press and seat it deeper by a few thou. If it makes an audible crack as it breaks free, that's your answer.

BrBa

Lil-Rokslider
I only have limited experience with Nosler brass. My batch was undersized (too short) and had the tightest primer pockets I've ever seen. This takes the cake though. Absolutely ridiculous for what they cost. I've heard Norma makes all their brass but don't know it for fact.

OP
Z

Zak406

Lil-Rokslider